How to reset your HomePod and connect it to a new Apple ID

Article Image

HomePod services like sending text messages or creating reminders can only be accomplished with the Apple ID used to initially set up the device. If you want to change the Apple ID affiliated with your HomePod, you’ll need to redo the setup process.
AppleInsider – Frontpage News

How to reset your Nintendo Switch before selling it

Do you need to completely reset your Switch in order to sell it? Here’s how to do it.

It’s hard to imagine, but there may come a time when you decide that you are going to have to part ways with your beloved Nintendo Switch. Whatever the reason may be, when that time comes, ensuring that all your data is wiped from the system is an imperative. You want to make sure that your Switch is as fresh as the day it was unboxed and all your personal data is removed. The following outlines how one might go about doing that.

Make sure you are connected to Wi-Fi

In order to do a full and proper factory reset of your Nintendo Switch you are going to have to make sure that you are connected to a WiFi network. If you are not connected to a Wi-Fi network, then your Switch will continue to be registered as the active console for downloads for you Nintendo account. If you need a reminder about how to connect to a network, that can be found in our guide.

How to do a full factory reset

  1. From the Home menu, select System Settings.

  2. On the left, scroll all the way down to choose System.

  3. From the System Menu select Initialize.

  4. In the Initialize menu, scroll to the bottom and select Initialize System.

  5. On the following screen choose Next. Your Switch will then connect to the internet in order to deregister your system as the active console for downloads for your Nintendo account.

  6. This is the point of no return. Select the red Initialize button and your system will be completely wiped of all data.

You are now ready to sell, give away, or throw your Switch from a moving car, confident that all trace of you has been removed.

Quesstions?

If you have any other questions regarding resetting your Switch, feel free to ask below.

iMore – Learn more. Be more.

How to Reset Dropbox Passcode on iPhone and Android

How to Reset Dropbox Passcode on iPhone and Android

To add additional security to your Dropbox files, you had set a four-digit passcode. Unfortunately, you can’t remember it anymore. How would you reset your Dropbox passcode on your iPhone and Android?

Don’t worry mate! You can easily remove your Dropbox passcode and reset it. It will remove your profile credentials. However, all of your contents will remain safe. Read on to find out how it’s done!

How to Reset Dropbox Passcode on iPhone and Android

How to Reset or Change Dropbox Passcode on, iPhone, iPad, Android, and Computer

Quick Links:

How to Reset Dropbox Passcode on iPad, Android, and Computer

Step #1. Go to dropbox.com and sign in to your account.

Sign in to your Dropbox accountStep #2. Now, click your avatar and select Settings.

Click Profile and select Settings in DropboxStep #3. Next, you need to click on Security tab.

Click on Security tab in DropboxUnder Devices, click the ‘X’ next to your device.

Under Devices, Click the X next to your device in DropboxNote: You can remove the Dropbox passcode from the Settings app on your Android device as well. To do so, open the Settings app → Account → Dropbox → tap on the three dots placed vertically → Remove account.

The next time you open the Dropbox app on your device, you will be prompted to sign in, but a passcode won’t be required.

Now, when you open Dropbox app, you will have to sign in using your password, but you won’t be prompted to enter your passcode.

How to Change Dropbox Passcode on iPhone, iPad, and Android

If you don’t want to use the existing passcode or wish to use a bit stronger one for more security, follow these steps.

Step #1. Open Dropbox app on your device.

Launch Dropbox on your iPhoneStep #2. Now, tap on the Account tab at the bottom.

Then, tap on the Settings icon at the top right corner.

Tap on Account tap and then Settings icon in Dropbox App on iPhoneNote: On your Android device, tap on the menu button at the top left corner and then select Settings.

Step #3. Next, tap on Passcode Lock.

Tap on Passcode Lock in Dropbox App on iPhoneOn your Android device, tap on Configure passcode.

Step #4. Next up, tap on Change Passcode.

Now, you need to enter your old passcode. Then, type in the new one and confirm.

Change Passcode for Dropbox App on iPhone and AndroidThat’s it!

Wrapping up:

Have any feedback or question? Shoot it in the comments below.

You may also like to take a peek at these posts:

Like this post? Download our app and stay connected with us via FacebookTwitter, and Google Plus to read more such articles.

How to reboot, reset, or enter DFU mode on iPhone 7 and 7 Plus

How do you reboot or DFU iPhone 7 when the Home button has gone Force Touch? Easily, it turns out!

Resetting and DFU mode are the last two steps on the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus troubleshooting ladder. When nothing else is working, these steps are your go-tos for getting your phone back into working order. A reset is just a forced reboot — one that you can do even if your device is malfunctioning. DFU (device recovery mode) mode, in contrast, is the last resort: It puts your iPhone into a state where it can still communicate with iTunes on Windows or Mac and be restored, but it won’t trip the boot loader or iOS, in case your software has become royally borked.

How to reboot your iPhone 7

If your iPhone 7 stops responding and you can’t force quit apps or turn it off by holding down the power button, you may need to reboot your device.

  1. Press and hold down the On/Off button on the right side.
  2. While continuing to hold the On/Off button, press and hold the volume down button on the left side of your iPhone.
  3. Hold both buttons as the screen turns off, and keep holding them until the screen turns back on and displays the Apple logo.

How to put your iPhone or iPad into DFU mode

If all else has failed, you may need to restore your iPhone; if it won’t restore normally, you’ll need to put it into DFU mode.

  1. Turn Off your iPhone 7 if you haven’t already done so.
  2. Plug in your iPhone 7 to your Mac or PC.
  3. Make sure iTunes is running on your Mac.
  4. Press and hold down the On/Off button on the right side of your device for 3 seconds.
  5. Press and hold down the volume down button on the left side of your iPhone 7 while still holding down the On/Off button.
  6. Keep holding both buttons down for 10 seconds. (If you see the Apple logo, you’ve held them too long and will need to start again.)
  7. Let go of the On/Off Button but keep holding the volume down button for about 5 seconds. (If you see the “Plug into iTunes” screen, then you’ve held it too long and will need to start again.)
  8. If the screen stays black, that’s it! Your iPhone 7 should now be in DFU mode.

At this point, iTunes should show you an alert saying it’s detected your iPhone 7 and will allow it to be restored from scratch or a backup.

Reminder: If you see any logos on your device, you might be in Recovery Mode, but you’re not in DFU mode. If Recovery Mode works, great. If not, try for DFU Mode again.

Questions?

If you have any questions about rebooting your iPhone 7 or putting it in DFU mode, let us know in the comments.

Updated January 2018: Everything’s up to date for iOS 11.

iMore – Learn more. Be more.